60 new communities adopt SolSmart expedited solar permitting software

The United States Department of Energy (DOE) announced two winners to manage the expansion of SolSmart — a program that has helped hundreds of communities to remove red tape to increase the deployment of solar energy and broaden access to clean energy. DOE also announced that more than 60 new communities have accepted the challenge from US Secretary of Energy Jennifer M. Granholm to join SolSmart, including the first Puerto Rican communities to participate in the program.

“SolSmart has helped hundreds of local governments make it easier and more affordable to transition to solar, and I’m excited to see the program take root in Puerto Rico, where the climate resilience of solar power is a huge benefit.” for the power grid,” said Sec. Granholm. “The Biden-Harris administration is committed to supporting local governments in transitioning and expanding access to clean energy such as solar, particularly in underserved communities.”

The Interstate Renewable Energy Council (IREC) and the International City/County Management Association (ICMA) will share the $10 million prize to update and expand SolSmart over the next five years, with a focus on rural and low- and low-income communities. middle incomes. IREC and ICMA will administer the program to encourage more equitable use of solar energy and the adoption of emerging technologies, including a combination of solar energy and battery storage.

SolSmart aims to help an additional 500 communities over the next five years and will add new focus areas in solar and storage, low- and mid-income solar, and other strategies to accelerate implementation and empower resource-poor communities. help out.

At least 40% of new candidates will be in underserved communities, helping to achieve DOE’s goals of increasing fair access to clean energy and President Biden’s goals. Justice40 Initiative

Since its inception in 2016, SolSmart has provided free technical assistance to more than 460 cities, counties and regional organizations in 42 states, the District of Columbia, the U.S. Virgin Islands and Puerto Rico. SolSmart has helped communities streamline processes that make it faster and easier to deploy solar energy, attract investment, and lower energy costs for families and businesses.

In September, Secretary Granholm challenged him to add another 60 communities to the program over the next six months. The communities that took up the challenge and were recently designated as SolSmart communities are:

  • Edgewater, CO
  • Frisco, CO
  • Glenwood Springs, CO
  • Netherlands, CO
  • Guilford, Connecticut
  • Pensacola, Florida
  • Doraville, Georgia
  • Council Bluffs, IA
  • Blaine County, ID
  • Hailey, ID
  • McCall, ID
  • Meridian, ID
  • Pocatello, ID
  • Bensenville, Illinois
  • Broadview, Illinois
  • Carol Stream, Illinois
  • Geneva, Illinois
  • Gurnee, Illinois
  • Hazel Crest, Illinois
  • Mount Prospect, IL
  • Mundelein, Illinois
  • Northlake, Illinois
  • Oak Forest, Illinois
  • Westmont, Illinois
  • Carmel, IN
  • Michigan City, IN
  • Zionsville, IN
  • Topsham, ME
  • Coon Rapids, Minnesota
  • Hopkins, Minnesota
  • Morris, Minnesota
  • Mounds View, MNO
  • Northfield, Minnesota
  • Woodbury, Minnesota
  • Boone, North Carolina
  • Cary, North Carolina
  • Greensboro, North Carolina
  • Holly Springs, NC
  • Morrisville, NC
  • Nags Head, NC
  • Raleigh, North Carolina
  • Wilmington, North Carolina
  • Reno, NV
  • Delaware, Ohio
  • Upper Arlington, Ohio
  • Etna, PA
  • Swarthmore, PA
  • Barranquitas, PR
  • Ciales, PR
  • Morovis, PR
  • Orocovis, PR
  • Villalba, PR
  • Greenville, SC
  • Newport News, Virginia
  • Bayside, Wisconsin
  • Laramie, Wyoming
  • Atlanta Regional Commission (GA)
  • Michiana Area Council of Governments (IN)
  • Mid-Ohio Regional Planning Commission (OH)
  • Region Nine Development Committee (MN)
  • South Central Regional Council of Governments (CT)

News item from DOE

Comments are closed.